VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD! Forum Index VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD!
Where A.I. is a four-letter word.

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Background Hiss Issues
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Rognog
Flight Attendant

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2006 2:32 pm    Post subject: Background Hiss Issues Reply with quote

Hey!

I started laying down the UCLA narration I booked via Voice123 today and I'm having a problem. There's too much background hiss. I'm using Audacity on my PC with a Samson Q7 microphone. I'm not technically savvy so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
Frank F
Fat, Old, and Sassy

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2006 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a couple of simple suggestions:

One: Start by taking the mic out of the chain, dis-connect the mic and record nothing...10 or 15 seconds should do. If you still have hiss, then check your Windows Volume Control (i.e.: Start>Accessories>Entertainment...), mute or turn off everything bring volumes down to "0". See if you still have "hiss". If not, then bring up each 'slider" one at a time until you find the one which is introducing the "hiss".

Two: After doing 'One', plug the mic back in and do the same thing (thinking you may not have the 'hiss' before you plug the mic back in...).

If you still have hiss, even when everything is down to "0", re-organize your cables, your power cords, etc.

If that does not work, think about getting a mixer and mic that will be outboard of your PC, and maybe a new PC....

Good luck.

Frank F
Rognog
Flight Attendant

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2006 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, Frank! I'll give it a try

Tom