VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD! Forum Index VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD!
Where A.I. is a four-letter word.

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

hi from a noob
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
gswartz

PostPosted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 6:46 pm    Post subject: hi from a noob Reply with quote

Hi everyone. I am a noob to VO, but I'm taking my first coaching lesson this week and I'm extremely excited about one day making the switch to doing VO full time. To finally say goodbye to the web programming world will be great. Anyway, I've been reading quite a bit on this board and the info is great. Everyone seems very friendly and I'm looking forward to making new friends here.

Since I haven't had any real experience doing VO before, I was wondering what some of you might suggest as my first steps toward getting some local jobs just to have something on my resume. I did read the thread about marketing yourself and I got the point to pick up the phone. But, aside from that, are there any other first steps that someone like me should take? I expect it's going to be hard to land some clients without having any real experience aside from a demo CD/mp3, so I'd appreciate any input. Thanks!

Geoff
Deirdre
Czarina Emeritus

PostPosted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Read aloud every day.

Hey-- I like "Night Air".
Satriani-esque.
gswartz

PostPosted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Deirdre wrote:

Hey-- I like "Night Air".
Satriani-esque.

Smile Thanks, he's always been my biggest influence.
Hart
Assistant Asylum Chief

PostPosted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote