VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD! Forum Index VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD!
Where A.I. is a four-letter word.

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

ISO: Quiet external hard drives
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bruce
Boardmeister

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 9:57 am    Post subject: ISO: Quiet external hard drives Reply with quote

I have two external hard drives, one for my audio recording sessions and the other for music and sfx libraries on one partition and archived recording sessions on the other partition, and I've been using them for at least 5 years now and should really consider replacing them.

I also have a large backup drive that's about 3 years old.

My search is for drives quiet enough to stay in the recording studio with me without building special soundproofing around them. I never hear the older drives, but the backup drive is so noisy that I just plug it in at the end of the work day instead of leaving it on all the time.

Any recommendations on brands or styles of drive for quietness?

While we're at it, any drives you recommend or dis-recommend in general?

B
VO-BB Member #31 Enlisted June, 2005

I'm not a Zoo, but over the years I've played one on radio/TV. .
Eddie Eagle
M&M

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Bruce
Happy Hols!
I recently got a Seagate 2tb USB3
backup slim bundle at costco for $90
It makes no noise and is cell phone size
dwpthe3rd
Contributore Level V

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Western Digital "My Passport" with USB 3 here. Tiny footprint. Virtually no noise whatsoever. I have Seagate as well; priced about same but WD seems a bit quieter.

dwpthe3rd
Lee Gordon
A Zillion

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote