VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD! Forum Index VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD!
Where A.I. is a four-letter word.

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

ISDN - should I or shouldn't I?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Voiceover Paul

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2015 7:40 am    Post subject: ISDN - should I or shouldn't I? Reply with quote

Hi

I have been voicing full time since 2012 and have so far managed to avoid having to invest in ISDN...but it seems that many production studios still insist on dealing only with ISDN VOs.

I do have ipDTL but there seems to be a bit of reluctance to embrace it from the old school, despite how fantastic it is.

So, do I bite the bullet and invest or hold off? I don't want to be left with a very expensive ISDN paperweight in a couple of years but I don't want to miss out on good jobs either. Anyone out there in a similar situation want to share your thoughts?
heyguido
MMD

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2015 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Consider it an investment in your business. There are many who have not joined the digital age yet. And a number of established potential clients are among them. If you can do bigger business with bigger clients, and it fits with your goals for the direction of your career....

If you stand to do enough additional business to pay for said investment, then you will have a profitable paperweight. Which should bring a smile of appreciation, not loss.

After all, they're getting cheaper every day, right?

Inoccent
Mike Harrison
M&M

Location: Equidistant from New York City and Philadelphia, along the NJ Shore

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2015 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What Don said.