VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD! Forum Index VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD!
Where A.I. is a four-letter word.

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Booth Build Ventilation

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jason Huggins
The Gates of Troy

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2015 12:16 pm    Post subject: Booth Build Ventilation Reply with quote

***I would like to start by saying I am not an engineer, and do not claim that anyone should use this information for any purpose other than entertainment, and I am definitely not suggesting anything to anyone. Read and use this information at your own risk***

With some recent threads about suffocating in a booth, I was curious about the numbers so here is an interesting bit of info.

The average person (under normal conditions) breathes about 11,000 liters (388 cubic feet) of air per day (24-hour period). This means the average person breathes 16.2 cubic feet of air per hour (ish).

My booth is 8x6x8 (or 384 cubic feet). There is a corner cut out so that makes the number a bit different, but for calculations sake, we'll just go with that.

That means that I could (if the air was constantly stirred up and I was breathing full concentrations of air with every breath...which I know wouldn't happen in reality because the gasses are constantly seeking an equilibrium...but I digress) breathe for almost 24 hours in there WITHOUT ventilation.

A whisper room (if sealed air tight) that is 3.5x3.5x7 (measurements rounded up) would contain 98 cubic feet of air. This gives you just over 6 hours of theoretical air WITHOUT ventilation.