VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD! Forum Index VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD!
Where A.I. is a four-letter word.

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Anyone using the Neumann TLM-103?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Glenn Moore
Been Here Awhile

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:24 am    Post subject: Anyone using the Neumann TLM-103? Reply with quote

If so....what kind of processor, interface and pre-amp are you using with it? Curious to know what your chain is and how it sounds with the TLM. Thanks!

Glenn
brianforrester
Backstage Pass

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Glenn,

I've been using a 103 for a couple of years now... here's the chain

TLM 103 > Presonus Eureka > Mackie 1402 VLZ Pro > MBox > USB to XP SP2 Based PC.

I don't add any processing on either the presonus or mackie, I let the boys and girls who know what they're doing mess around with those nifty little things in post!

I'm very happy with the chain as it is now and the Presonus does a nice job. I toyed around with losing either the Presonus or the Mackie, but the combination of both makes a noticable difference when compared to either piece individually, at least for me and to my ears.

If I had the $$ I'd probably replace the Presonus with an Avalon M5, but I think that may be more ego than practicallity that is the motivation behind that.

Here's a quick sample without any processing:

http://www.brianforrester.com/audio/signalchain_bforrester.wav

Hope this helps.

Last edited by brianforrester on Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:47 am; edited 1 time in total
Glenn Moore
Been Here Awhile

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Brian-