VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD! Forum Index VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD!
Where A.I. is a four-letter word.

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Equipment Crossroad
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
mcm
Smart Kitteh

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 12:43 pm    Post subject: Equipment Crossroad Reply with quote

So, I've been recording VO for 10 months with my Rode NT1A and Behringer Eurorack B802 cutiepie mixer and am growing dissatisfied with the quality of the recordings. I need warmth. Something. I don't like anything I'm doing as much as I like my demo, which was recorded on about $7000 worth of equipment so I'm not going there and probably don't have to. But I don't know where to start. Microphone or pre-amp/processor. If the latter, I'm thinking about the by-pass-the-sound-card route. Like the Mackie Spike. Could I do better? I know there have been discussions of mixers ad nauseum here, and some mention of the Spike. But in looking through the discussions I don't see anything that quite addresses the problem I'm having, primarily because I don't really know what the problem is that I'm having!! General dissatisfaction and je ne sais quois. My recordings seem a little muddy somehow.

Sigh.

Any thoughts? Sorry to be so vague.
Philip Banks
Je Ne Sais Quoi

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First you have to say how much you will spend as opposed to how much you won't. A recording engineer with 30 years experience told me to buy THE mic, spend as much as possible + a little extra, then with what's left buy the rest. The built in pre-amps on the Behringer are fine and will not colour the sound of a good mic. Having not heard the sound you don't like it's difficult to suggest how to get the sound you will like.