VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD! Forum Index VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD!
Where A.I. is a four-letter word.

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Sennheiser 416 or Neumann U87 for VO+?
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Geronimo

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 8:24 am    Post subject: Sennheiser 416 or Neumann U87 for VO+? Reply with quote

Ok, so this question in its context is a bit of a stretch, but I’m going to throw it out there anyway – so work with me!

I’ve been working in VO for the past 5 years as a hobby and want to now step it up to professional work. I also do some guitar/vocals recording and DV filmmaking - both of which are hobbies, but if I had to choose between those two in terms of importance, the filmmaking would definitely take precedence with a better possibility of taking off.

In advancing my VO career, I am upgrading my home studio equipment. I have settled on a Great River ME-1NV pre, and have a high-end PC running Vista and Audition 3.0. This leaves me two links (at minimum) of the chain to figure out.

The first of the two links, and the most important to me, is the mic. For the sake of this thread, let’s set cost aside – I’ll figure that in as a pro/con on my own in the end. I am open to other suggestions if anyone has a strong opinion for another option, but I am contrasting the Sennheiser 416 and the Neumann U87, both of which are staple VO mics.