VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD! Forum Index VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD!
Where A.I. is a four-letter word.

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

PRICE POINT!
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
danlenard

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2005 6:38 pm    Post subject: PRICE POINT! Reply with quote

Fellow voicers,

I've been doing this off and on for damn near 30 years. I still can't get the hang of price point in this business. There are standard rates and then there is the rate non-union shops are willing to pay. Radio & Television stations pay standard rates. Advertising agencies should and occasionally pay standard rates. Everyone else, (Which is 95% of the business out there for us) is fairly clueless as to what to pay and wants us to "quote" something. You don't quote, they don't consider you. Quote too high and someone less qualified gets the work. quote too low and your eating Mac and cheese. I've learned to to ask for a budget before I quote. That has lost me work.

Getting paid is why I left the business 10 years ago. I thought the internet would change things. More business, but lower pay.

WHo has had success at at the price point game?

Dan Lenard

Buffalo, NY
Frank F
Fat, Old, and Sassy

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 1:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whew. You took a big topic to discuss. I will give only my opinion - because there are no hard and fast rules.

First - as previously stated - there is NO price point! Unless you consider AFTRA/SAG as the standard. Each market is different as to what it will bear - the same as in any other business.

Second - YOU and only you can decide on what your talent is worth. To mis-quote a famous movie line "... Choose your price wisely".